sew domestic.

This past week I got together with a semi-new friend who said she would give me a refresher course in sewing.  I have made a few items in the past but had never set up a machine on my on and I don’t know any of the terminology and such.  I was given a sewing machine for Christmas LAST year but I had never used it because I didn’t have anyone to help me learn how to use it and my daughter needed too much of my attention for me to sit down with the manual and figure it out on my own.

My husbands grandmother is in an assisted-living home now and uses a walker.  I got the idea to make a hanging fabric pocket to attach to the front of her walker for her to keep items like her keys, a pen, klennex, etc.. When she lived on her own she used to love decorating her home for the various holidays so I bought several holiday print fabrics and made a different pouch for each holiday.  I had a blast and now I have a ton of projects in the works.  This week I plan to make my daughter a purse and I have a few Christmas gifts for family members I want to make.  This past week I even hit up Hancock Fabric’s 99 cent pattern sale and bought a bunch of baby/toddler patterns.  I also have plans to start making my daughters cloth diapers rather than buying anymore.  She will need to move up to the next size this spring/summer so that gives me time to start working on creating a stockpile!

I think I have finally found a hobby I can do and feel good about!  There are still alot of other hobbies I want to learn but for know I think I am going to continue to focus on my sewing and knitting.

1 Comment

Filed under crafting

One response to “sew domestic.

  1. That is such an awesome idea for a gift. I’m sure she’s going to love it!

Leave a Reply

