Night-Weaning

I came to a place a few weeks ago where I just couldn’t handle the relentless night-nursing anymore and decided it was time to wean from our night time buffet.  If it was once (even the occasional twice) a night I could handle that, but I am often going in 3-5 times a night.  Its exhausting, especially since we are talking about a 20 month old toddler!  After getting some advice on methods to weaning, I started 3 nights ago.  The first 2 nights went great.  When she wakes during the night I go in and she will usually say “nurse” (in the cutest, whiny voice) but now I tell her that she can nurse tomorrow when the sun is out and she snuggles me in the bed and goes back to sleep.  Last night she had a lot more trouble going down but I am hoping with time it will get easier.

Mirabelle hit the 20 month mark yesterday!  I remember saying that I wanted to child-led wean as long as she weaned by age 2 and that is just around the corner now.  I honestly don’t know if I can see weaning her in 4 months nor do I think I would mind if she didn’t.  Even though there have been many rough patches in our breastfeeding journey, its been wonderful and I am so glad I stuck with it through the challenges!

1 Comment

Filed under breastfeeding, life as a parent

One response to “Night-Weaning

  1. Yay for breastfeeding!

    I have been considering night weaning too. With my husband now going to be working nights I think it’s the best time. I’ve been wanting to cut back on the night nursing marathons but I also didn’t want to disrupt Mike’s sleep. Him being tired is very dangerous on his job.

Leave a Reply

