The Cenacle Retreat

Relax

Today I will be heading up to the north side of town to attend a Catholic run retreat center called The Cenacle.  The word “cenacle” means quite literally “to commune”.  The purpose of their center is for people to come for a period of time for rest, prayer, meditation, fasting, etc..  Some people go there to mourn and heal while others are there to seek the Lord for help in guidance in major life directions.  There are MANY reasons to spend an extended period in meditation and communion with God. Some people go for a day or weekend while others have stayed for extended periods of time.

For me, I am needing rest, restoration, and to seek guidance in getting back on track in where my life should be headed physically and spiritually.  I haven’t felt this spiritually dry in a long time.  Lately I have wondered if I was depressed again which is something I haven’t struggled with since early in college, but I think I am just so spiritually blah and lonely that I am confusing that with feeling depressed.

When I get there today I will get a key to my room.  Its a very small room with a bed, desk, and a sink area and that’s it (very modest- think Sister Act when they take her to her cell but more like a tiny dorm room feel less medieval cell).  Most of my time will be spent outdoors today.  Their grounds are spectacular.  They have walking trails, lots of places to sit and enjoy the surroundings and read, as well as a walking prayer labyrinth.  The first time I visited the retreat center I had never participated in a prayer labyrinth before but I decided to try it and it was a great experience.  I will also meet with a spiritual director early in the morning who will help talk through what it is that I want to focus on during my stay.  They ask a lot of questions to help draw out a more specific prayer focus.  The first time I did this I was very nervous and intimidated and I felt like I rambled for an hour about everything in my life that bothered me!!  The last time I went I felt like I had a more realistic understanding of the role of the spiritual director.

I will also be journaling a few times throughout the day so I will be sharing those on this blog in the coming days.

Leave a comment

Filed under life, local, picture post, spirituality

Leave a Reply

