My latest creations..

I figured I would post sewing or knitting projects and the like as I completed them but I am way behind.  Actually, I am way behind in blogging in general!  I have 3 drafted posts that I haven’t touched in weeks.  So, in the meantime here are a few images of some of the sewing projects I have worked on lately.  Some of them date back to Christmas time but I don’t think I ever posted them on the blog!

For Christmas I made a purse for my daughter (only my 2nd project-no pattern!)

Brown Corduroy with bright, leaves and butterfly pattern.  The bag is lined with the same material as the pocket.

Brown Corduroy with bright, leaves and butterfly pattern. The bag is lined with the same material as the pocket.

I made this bag for my SIL for Christmas.  This was my 3rd project and there were ALOT of pieces to it. It came together really well and I am hoping to make one for myself soon.

I made this bag for my SIL for Christmas. This was my 3rd project and there were ALOT of pieces to it. It came together really well and I am hoping to make one for myself soon.

The exterior is made from a brown suit material and the lining is a pink and brown scroll pattern.  The handmade buttons were my favorite part to make and add.  Such a great touch that really adds a ton of character!

The exterior is made from a brown suit material and the lining is a pink and brown scroll pattern. The handmade buttons were my favorite part to make and add. Such a great touch that really adds a ton of character!

Recently, I made floor pillows for my other SIL, for her birthday gift.  I let her pick out her own fabric for this.  Making the pillows was easy but tuffing was not.

Recently, I made floor pillows for my other SIL, for her birthday gift. I let her pick out her own fabric for this. Making the pillows was easy but tuffing was not.

I wanted to buy a kid-sized chair that my daughter could sit in..particularly when we are in the living room.  I had intentions of making a cushion for the seat but decided to modify and cover a ready-made pad from Ikea instead.  As you will see below.  I cut down the pad to fit, measured and made the cover, and put it all together.  The great thing about the pre-made pad is that it came with Velcro straps that attach to the back legs!

I heart Ikea!

I heart Ikea!

Trimmed chair pad.

Notice the fabric is the same as what was used for Mirabelle's purse.

Notice the fabric is the same as what was used for Mirabelle's purse.

I took a break from my sewing machine for a much needed, no-sew household project!  My 5-year old dining room chairs were looking very sad and I had been in search of some cheap upholstery fabric.  Finally one day I found some great 50% off fabric and get to stapling away!  I did not remove the old fabric; I stapled the new fabric on top of the old.  This was super easy and made a huge difference visually.

ewww..the old covers looked terrible!

ewww..the old covers looked terrible!

Here is a finished cushion.

Here is a finished cushion.

Here it is all put together.

Here it is all put together.

Here is a close up of the fabric.  The entire project costs me 15 bucks!!

Here is a close up of the fabric. The entire project costs me 15 bucks!!

1 Comment

Filed under crafting, picture post

One response to “My latest creations..

  1. Oh man I’m impressed. I’m seriously handicapped when it comes to all things crafty. I really really love the bag you made for your sil.
    Cory’s a pretty handy seamstress & I’ve been bugging him for months to make me a camera bag. They’re all so ugly & black..I want a cut padded bag big enough to hold my camera & a couple lenses. Not too much to ask, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

