Sunday Snapshot [5.24.09]

Why am I posting a “Sunday Snapshot” on a Tuesday?  Well, two reasons..I made to major blogging goofs!  First, I am so off this week due to the long weekend that yesterday felt more like a Saturday than a Sunday or a Monday.  Also, at the beginning of the month I forgot to post a very important post with pictures so I decided I would go ahead and do that now.

On May 1st, Bill and I went to see the Broadway musical Rent.  It was touring through Houston and we pre-ordered our tickets 6 months in advance!  This show was pretty special for me because, not only do I LOVE Rent, but it included 3 of the original cast members (Anthony Rapp, Adam Pascal, and Gwen Stewart).

When I was 17, my high school choir took a trip to NYC to perform and discover the city.  We were promised 2 Broadway shows while we were there: Les Miserables and Rent!  We were so excited to see both performances but after arriving we were told that our Rent tickets “fell through” and we would see a different show instead.  I was devastated and have never let that disappointment go.  If I had seen the show in New York back in 1997, I would have seen the entire original cast perform it on the Nederland stage.

Regardless, being able to see atleast these three iconic performers travel to Houston and put on Rent was redemption!  Bill and I caught the Friday night show.  On Sunday night, my friend and I went back to the theatre and stalked the stage door (with about 300 other people) to get our Playbill signed and snag some pictures of the stars.  We got there early enough to get a good spot by the door.  It was an amazing weekend!  I was even brave enough to chat it up with Adam Pascal and Gwen Stewart.  Gwen even gave me a big hug!

We were crazy close to the stage door!

We were crazy close to the stage door!

Adam Pascal signing our Playbills (he never stopped smiling!)

Adam Pascal signing our Playbills (he never stopped smiling!)

2nd time I have seen him/met him in person..amazing guy!

2nd time I have seen him/met him in person..amazing guy!

Gwen Stewart (she's the one that makes "Season's of Love" the masterpiece that it is!)

Gwen Stewart (she's the one that makes "Season's of Love" the masterpiece that it is!)

Leave a comment

Filed under local, picture post, random, Snapshot Sunday

Leave a Reply

