A week full of firsts!

That’s right, my daughter Mirabelle experienced a handful of firsts last Wednesday and not one of them was fun or exciting!  So, here’s how it all went down:

Wednesday around noon, we had just returned from running tons of errands and my baby girl was ready for lunch and requesting mac’n cheese.  We walked in the door and she promptly crawled up into one of our dining room chairs to sit and wait while I cooked up lunch.  I sat in front of her a water cup and a toy and walked into the kitchen.  Just in the amount of time it took me to walk into the kitchen, open the pantry, and get down a box of pasta, she managed to fall out of her chair and hit the floor.  When I heard the “boom” I went bounding back into the dining room to check on her a few steps away.  By now she was screaming.  When I got to her and started to pick her up I noticed her hand next to her face and a pen in her hand.  As I lifted her from the floor she pulled the ball-point pen away from her face and the blood started to flow!!

Apparently, there was a pen that had been left on the table from the morning that she found.  She told me later she was “coloring” with it and then when she fell out of the chair, she had it in her right hand and she fell on her right side…the pen then punctured her right cheek!  The cheek was instantly doubling (if not tripling) in size and we ran back to the kitchen for a rag to put a compression against the wound.

I ran back to get my cell phone (my ONLY phone) and decided a hole in the face definitely deserved a call to 911.  After trying several times to dial out my phone would NOT dial out a call.  I found out later that for some reason the software was acting up and had to be rebooted.  Talk about bad timing!  I then had to run out of my house with my screaming, bleeding daughter and go door-to-door until I could find someone home who would let me call EMS.  After trying 3 houses I found someone home and was able to call EMS and my husband.  It only took both of them 7 minutes to arrive and we all rode down to Texas Children’s Hospital.  One of the great things about living in Houston is that we have one of THE best medical centers in the country.  We were put in a room immediately and examined shortly thereafter.

The EMS workers were very sweet and helped me peel away my “Worst Mom of the Year” badge.  It only took me about 10 minutes to get over that and not care about what people might think.  God was definitely looking over my precious girl in a moment when I could not because the pen did NOT puncture all the way through the cheek; it only went through the outer tissue.  Also, there are two main nerves that run through the cheek that control most of the facial and mouth movements and she hit BETWEEN them so there was no nerve damage whatsoever!

She did need 5 stitches though and the doctor said it would be cruel to do it any other way other than by means of sedation.  It was a type of sedation where her mind was asleep and her pain sensation was thus disengaged, however she was technically awake and fully capable of bodily movements, etc..  We had to wait about 5 hours for this procedure because of when she had last had food and water.  It was a long wait for a nursing girl but she was a trooper; iphones with pictures and the TV w/ cartoons helped a lot!

Tonight the stitches and scab fell off so now we just have to do our best to make sure her scar heals pretty over the next year which means lots of hats and sunscreen in the sun!

So, my girl experienced her first major accident and survived it (and so did Momma!), first ride in an Ambulance, first ER visit, first sedation/anesthesia, first IV, first stitches, and first sugary Popsicle!  Hoping the next won’t be for a long time..if ever (especially the Popsicle..lol!).

Our bo-bo girl after getting poked and prooded.  She was mad!

Our bo-bo girl after getting poked and prooded. She was mad!

All Sewed up!  Still a little "drunk" from sedation and very happy about the popcicle!

All Sewed up! Still a little "drunk" from sedation and very happy about the popcicle!

I treated her to some Starbucks oatmeal the other morning.  You can see the swelling is significantly less and the bruising is yellow which is the end of the lifecycle.

I treated her to some Starbucks oatmeal the other morning. You can see the swelling is significantly less and the bruising is yellow which is the end of the lifecycle.

2 Comments

Filed under health, life as a parent, picture post

2 responses to “A week full of firsts!

  1. Oh gosh! I’m glad it wasn’t as bad as it could have been.

    I hope it continues to heal up well!

  2. Oh my gosh! I’m so glad she’s okay.

Leave a Reply

